Hats!

Books:

Caps for Sale -Esphyr Slobodkina
Twelve Hats for Lena- Karen Katz
I Want My Hat Back- Jon Klassen
Aunt Lucy Went to Buy a Hat- Alice Low
Milos Hat Trick- Jon Agee
Songs:
 
Opening Song:  “Can’t Wait to Celebrate”- Jim Gill
 
“We’re Going on a Bear Hunt”
“Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”
Closing Song: “We Wave Goodbye
 
Notes:
LOVE this theme. Thought of it because I wanted to read I Want My Hat Back so badly. Funny enough, Caps for Sale was the biggest hit. The kids loved acting like the moneys and saying the colors of the hats. I noticed that bears are mentioned a few times in these books so at the beginning of story time when I asked who wore a hat, I asked if bears do. It was funny to see how they answered at the beginning and at the end! If you do a craft at the end of your story time, I would recommend a fun craft I saw on Family Fun Crafts http://funfamilycrafts.com/spring-hat/ For my story time, I wore my Cubs hat. Go Cubs!
2 Comments

Filed under Storytime

2 responses to “Hats!

  1. I love hat books! In fact, I knitted the I Want My Hat Back hat and a princess/sorcerer hat for story time. I’ll have to send you a picture!

Leave a Reply

